top of page
  • Writer's pictureBHAC

January 2020 Race Round-up

NE Masters Endurance Grand Prix winner!

Congratulations to Roselle Oberholzer who won the 2019 W55 NE Masters Endurance Grand Prix.

Birtley XC Relays, 19th January 2020

Congratulations to the Men’s V65 team of Alan Storey, Stuart Beryl and David Graham who finished first place in the category to win the North East Masters gold medals. The Senior Ladies fielded two teams; Claire Collinson, Joanne Ramshaw and Letha Whitham making up the A team, and Clare McConnell, Rosie Bunney and Nicola Perry making up the B team.

York Brass Monkey Half Marathon, 12th January 2020

Ten Blaydon Harriers competed in this year’s Brass Monkey Half Marathon, a flat and fast race, looping southwards from York race course. Matthew Alderson was the first Blaydon Harrier, finishing 27th with 1:12:10, followed by Martin Graham in 01:18:29, Hedley Fletcher in 01:19:07, James Dias in 01:20:17, Michael Friberg in 01:29:13 and Stuart Moor in 01:53:17, all fantastic times. Peter Hodgson and James Ramshaw also raced. Izzi Jackson was the first Blaydon lady home in 01:33:28, quickly followed by Hannah Mcrae in 01:39:39. Well done!

Sherman Cup, 4th January 2020

The Sherman Cup Cross Country event took place at Temple Park, South Shields, on 4th January 2020. Two U11 boys ran for Blaydon Jamie Lonergan, coming home in 4:24 and Aaron Jobson in 4:34. Robert Atkinson and Tom Wallace competed in the U13 boys race, Robert finishing in 14:00 and Tom in 18:40. In the U13 girls’ race, Ellie Fellows stormed into 7th place with a time of 13:12, followed by Hazel Richardson in 15:38 and Grace Perry in 16:43, placing their team in 7th position. The U15 boys team came in 6th place, led by Will Collinson placing 3rd in 11:02, followed by Joseph Lonergan in 12:31 and Alex Wallace in 14:06. Hannah Perry was the only Blaydon runner in the U15 girls’ race. Cecelia Reid placed 6th in the U17/20 women’s race in 22:41 followed by team mate Jessica Levy in 24:25. Claire Collinson, Clare McConnell and Nicola Perry ran in the Senior/Veteran women’s race. Matthew Alderson, Luke Shears and Jaycee Shotton made up the Senior Men’s team. Philip Jobson also competed in the Senior category and Ian Brooks in the Veteran category. Blaydon came 13th overall in the Sherman Cup and 23rd in the Davison Shield.


Recent Posts

See All


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page